Itzulia Basque Country 2024

Latest News from the Race

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Itzulia Basque Country overview
DateApril 3-8, 2023
Start locationIrun
Finish locationEibar
CategoryMen's WorldTour
Previous edition2023 Itzulia Basque Country

EIBAR SPAIN APRIL 08 Jonas Vingegaard of Denmark and Team Jumbo Visma Yellow Leader Jersey competes in the breakaway compete while fans cheers during the 62nd Itzulia Basque Country Stage 6 a 1378km stage from Eibar to Eibar UCIWT on April 08 2023 in Eibar Spain Photo by David RamosGetty Images

Jonas Vingegaard rides through the crowd of Basque fans (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

The Itzulia Basque Country has its 63rd edition in 2024 with a short time trial and mountainous final stage the main features of the 2024 Itzulia Basque Country route.

The race began in 1924 when it was known as the GP Excelsior, with early winners including Francis Pellissier, 1929 Tour de France winner Maurice De Waele, and, in 1935, Gino Bartali.

In 1936, the race shut down seemingly for good due to the Spanish Civil War. Despite Francisco Franco's oppressive reign though, there were several attempts to resume the race in Bilbao and San Sebastián, none of which took hold.

In the 1950s, it was resurrected as a race in Eibar, which became the Eibarko Bizikleta, later the Euskal Bizikleta, and then the Tour of the Basque Country in 1969.

Jacques Anquetil, Luis Ocaña (twice), Sean Kelly (three times), and record four-time winner José Antonio González Linares were among the winners in the 18 years before the race split apart again, with the Euskal Bizikleta going solo in until re-merging with the Tour of the Basque Country after the global financial crisis of 2008.

In the meantime, Tony Rominger dominated the race in the early 1990s, while Iban Mayo, Denis Menchov and Danilo Di Luca were among the notable victors of the 2000s. UCI regulations introduced in 2006 heralded the end of the split-stage format – one road stage, one time trial – which had been part of the race since 1969, substituted by the six-day structure that exists today.

Race organisers rejected a buyout proposal from Vuelta a España organisers Unipublic shortly after the 2008 financial crisis, while the Euskal Bizikleta merger brought aboard the Alto de Arrate climb in 2009, forming the race we know today.

In 2012, financial problems reappeared as the local government backers ran into trouble, with the race at serious risk of stopping altogether. However, a combination of fund-raising channels – including from fans, and sponsorship from Banco Sabadell Guipuzcoano – saved it.

Four years later, Alberto Contador won his fourth edition of the race, equalling José Antonio González Linares record in one of the final victories of his storied career. Primož Roglič's win in 2021 was his second, his final day comeback adding another strand of history to the famed Arrate.

Last year, Jonas Vingegaard won the overall.

Itzulia Basque Country start list

Data powered by FirstCycling

Itzulia Basque Country teams

  • Ineos Grenadiers
  • Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale
  • Alpecin-Deceuninck
  • Arkéa-B&B Hotels
  • Astana Qazaqstan
  • Bora-Hansgrohe
  • Cofidis
  • Team DSM-Firmenich-PostNL
  • EF Education-EasyPost
  • Groupama-FDJ
  • Intermarché-Wanty
  • Jayco-AlUla
  • Movistar
  • Soudal-QuickStep
  • Bahrain Victorious
  • Lidl-Trek
  • Visma-Lease a Bike
  • UAE Team Emirates
  • Burgos-BH
  • Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
  • Kern Pharma
  • Euskaltel-Euskadi
  • TotalEnergies
  • Q36.5


  • Itzulia Basque Country 2024
    1 April 2024 - 6 April 2024 | Basque Country | WorldTour
    • Stage 1 | Irun - Irun
      2024-04-01 10km
    • Stage 2 | Irun - Kanbo
      2024-04-02 160km
    • Stage 3 | Ezpeleta - Altsasu
      2024-04-03 190.9km
    • Stage 4 | Etxarri Aranatz - Lagutio
      2024-04-04 157.5km
    • Stage 5 | Vitoria-Gasteiz - Amorebieta-Etxano
      2024-04-05 175.9kms
    • Stage 6 | Eibar - Eibar
      2024-04-06 137.8km

Top News on the Race

Related Features